PTC18 Launches Innovation Awards

At PTC18, the annual conference held by the Pacific Telecommunications Council, several innovation awards were presented to companies and individuals, in a range of categories ranging from technology to quality of life impact on the peoples of the Pacific region.

Organizers say they hope the program will continue, as a way of recognizing and promoting innovation in communications as practiced across the Pacific region.  

Image result for ptc 18 innovation awards

The awards covered six categories related to innovation within the ICT industry and were judged by a panel of seven jurors representing a broad cross-section of industry executives and thought leaders from a variety of network-centric industry segments.

The jurors were RingByName CMO Matt Bramson, Salesforce Vice President for Strategic Research Peter Coffee, APTelecom CEO Eric Handa, DE-CIX International CEO Ivo Ivanov, Garnet Consulting Pty. Ltd. CEO Hugh McGarry, North American Hawaiki Cable President of Business Development Randy Neals, and HOT TELECOM President and Founder Isabelle Paradis.

Each candidate entry was evaluated quantitatively against multiple criteria, with a strict mathematical protocol used to combine the perspectives of each of the independent judges. There was no fee or sponsorship required to enter to safeguard the neutrality and objectivity of the awards.

PacketFabric took the award for Best Application/Service Innovation, as well as Best Networking Innovation Award together with Aqua Comms. The award for Best Regulatory Innovation was presented to Geeks Without Frontiers, while Telstra took home the Lifetime Innovation Award. Télécoms Sans Frontières was recognized for Best Quality of Life Improvement, and Cloudflare won Best Overall Innovation Award.


Popular posts from this blog

Voice Usage and Texting Trends Headed in Opposite Directions

Who Are the Key Telco Competitors?

Does Wireless Charging Cause RF Interference?